Taking Chances

“A ship is safe in harbor, but that’s not what ships are for.”
William Shedd

I’ll admit it. I play it safe. I wear my seatbelt. I check my surroundings before using my ATM card. And I can’t even imagine making the choice to jump out of a perfectly good plane with the hope that a flimsy piece of fabric will break my fall from 3,500 feet. I’m just careful.

There comes a point, though, when you realize that careful isn’t always satisfying or fulfilling. My time came this year. Sure…it would have been easier to stay on course, but I could feel my barnacles forming as I continued to dock in my safe harbor.

So, I did it. I opened Cold Moon Press as a sister company to Book Mark It Promotions. Yes, it’s scary to try such a huge venture, but after years of learning so much from other great folks in the publishing industry, I figured it was time. Time for me to sail out of my safe harbor, time for me fulfill some of my dreams.

As a writer, I’ve often pushed the boundaries of my comfort zone. Sometimes, these chances have had little risk beyond a few hours of time and several crumbled pieces of loose-leaf paper. But every once in a while, it leads to something kind of wonderful. Which is what I’m hoping for with the writers I am and will be working with at Cold Moon.

Today, I invite you to take a few chances. Eat at a new restaurant. Talk to a stranger. Write that piece of poetry or prose you’ve been mulling over. Scrape off your barnacles and head out of your safe harbor.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bookmarkit09.wordpress.com/2010/12/21/takingchances/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

